

National Kidney Foundation of Illinois
39th Annual

Gift of Life Gala

Celebrating 75 years of NKFI



39th Annual Gift of Life Award

Illinois Public Health Association

With the Gift of Life Award, the National Kidney Foundation of Illinois (NKFI) honors members of the greater kidney community who are passionate about raising awareness for living kidney donation, the importance of kidney health, and the prevention of chronic kidney disease. Since 2019, the Illinois Public Health Association (IPHA) has supported NKFI in building pivotal relationships across the State of Illinois that have expanded its reach in communities disproportionately affected by or at risk for chronic kidney disease. Additionally, as the lead organization in the development and implementation of a new statewide curriculum for Community Health Workers, IPHA has been instrumental in the pursuit of improved health care, access, and equity for the state's most medically underserved communities. For these reasons, NKFI is proud to honor IPHA with the 39th Annual Gift of Life Award.

Harold & Molly Schwartz Founders' Award

Dr. Holly Mattix-Kramer, MD, MPH

The family of Harold & Molly Schwartz established the Founders Award in their honor, following Harold's death in 2005. Harold was a founding member of the National Kidney Foundation of Illinois (NKFI) and supported the NKFI in its efforts throughout his life. The Founders Award is given, based on merit, to a volunteer or board member who has demonstrated outstanding commitment and achievement on behalf of the National Kidney Foundation of Illinois. Dr. Holly Mattix-Kramer is a dedicated clinician, educator, advocate, donor, and volunteer. In addition to treating her patients with the utmost care, Dr. Kramer inspires the next generation of providers to bring kidney health to the forefront. NKFI is grateful to Dr. Kramer for her incredible support and pleased to honor her with this year's Harold & Molly Schwartz Founders' Award.

Advocate Award

IL State Senator Christopher Belt, IL State Senator Mattie Hunter, and IL State Representative Maurice West

The Advocate Award recognizes an individual or individuals responsible for significant advocacy promoting NKFI's legislative priorities. Awardees are responsible for significant activity around a legislative issue that has a positive impact on kidney health. Senators Belt and Hunter, and Representaive West have been long-time advocates for kidney patients in Illinois and are the driving force behind the Illinois Kidney Disease Prevention and Education Task Force. Senator Belt is even a kidney transplant recipient himself! For these reasons, we are pleased to honor them with the first Advocate Award.

National Kidney Foundation of Illinois
39th Annual

Gift of Life Gala

Saturday, the Second of November Two Thousand Twenty Four

Hilton Chicago, Continental Room 720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, Illinois 60605

6:00PM Cocktail Reception **7:00PM** Program, Dinner and Dancing

Emcee Regina Waldroup, NBC 5 Chicago Anchor, Reporter

COCKTAIL ATTIRE

Guests are strongly encouraged to wear a splash of orange and/or something diamond-inspired to celebrate NKFI's diamond anniversary.

RSVP ONLINE AT NKFI.ORG/GALA

OUR GENEROUS SPONSORS















The Carla Gordon Giving Fund Mr Curt & Dr. Holly Kramer

Morgan Stanley Morthwestern Medicine



The Schaaf Foundation

Mark & Judy Schwartz





Benesch Organ Recovery Systems National Dialysis Accreditation Commission

HOST COMMITTEE

Mark and Judy Schwartz, **Co-Chairs**Curt Anliker

Marc and Jacqueline Bishop

Habilitative Systems, Inc.

Pam McElvane, DMBA Media Drs. Tipu Puri and Anita Chandra-Pur Dr. Kareen Simpson

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Curt Anliker, Vice President James Easterbrook, Secretary Mark Schwartz, Treasurer Jill M. Schaaf, Immediate Past President Suneel Udani, MD, Chair, Professional Advisory Board

Andrew J. Aronson, MD, MBA, MPH
Gavin Campbell
Divya Jain, DO
Gregory Kent
Holly Mattix-Kramer, MD, MPH
Pamela A. McElvane, MBA, MA, PCC
Deepak Mital, MD, MBA, FACS, FRCS
Juan Morado, Jr.
Tipu Puri, MD, PhD
Mike Schrader
Andres Serrano, MD
Robyn Sexton, MBA
Kareen Simpson, MD
Susan V. Sullivan
Jonathan Theros, KELLOGG BOARD FELLOW

LIFETIME TRUSTEES

Dariene and Carl Chalett Sandy Kagan-Angell Richard Noel Alyta and Ronald Ian Reicin Marlene Nortman Rubenstein

CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

Jacqueline Burgess-Bishop, FACHE